Fitness Foreseen for 2013!

Knowing what worked before and reapplying it to life

Somethings you don’t realize you miss… December 28, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — melanina03 @ 4:43 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

So for the past two days, I’ve been monitoring what I’ve been eating – the calories, fat, carbs, fiber and protein – and there’s one word to describe how I felt about the totals for day — EEEKKK!!!

Previously, I would eat at least 40 grams of fiber of day – and no it doesn’t affect me like it does other people. And I noticed I could barely get 20 grams. So then I realized what I was missing in my food journal – FRESH FRUITS AND VEGETABLES!!! Yes, I would have an apple a day, but that’s about it. The rest would be cooked and before I always made sure to have at least 4 raw/fresh fruits and/or vegetables a table. So while running errands yesterday, I stopped by the store and picked up some grape tomatoes, carrots, cucumbers and apples. 

For my morning snack as I type out this blog, I’m snacking on some grape tomatoes. Even though they are not in season, they taste absolutely delicious! Some people say “you don’t realize what you’re missing until you don’t have it”…well, I didn’t really miss them until after I started snacking on them today. Does that make sense?

Actually, now that my taste buds have been awaken for the fresh foods, I’m craving all the things I used to eat – celery, carrots, bell peppers, kiwi, apples, cantaloupe, watermelon, grapes! So I’m getting ready to revise my grocery list for this week and plug in some fresh produce!

Now I’m going to search pinterest for different combination/recipes that include fresh produce – so for any of you who may read this, do you have any favorite combination or recipes that include fresh produce? One of my favorite is fruit salsa!!! And one thing I’ve always tired to master while cooking but couldn’t – when stir-frying vegetables how do you keep them crisp without them turning into mush?

Image

 

Leave a Reply

